top of page

OWIT South Florida Announces Winners of the 2011 International Business Woman of the Year (IBWOY) Aw

Grants first International Lifetime Service Award in the 10-year history of IBWOY

MIAMI, FL -- October 26, 2011 - The Organization of Women in International Trade (OWIT) – South Florida Chapter, which is part of a worldwide organization dedicated to advancing global trade opportunities for women, today announced the winners of the 10th Annual International Business Woman of the Year Awards (IBWOY). A luncheon to recognize this year’s winners will take place on Tuesday, November 1, 2011 from 11am – 2pm at the Intercontinental Hotel in Doral, Florida. The IBWOY Awards recognize outstanding women in the South Florida community in three categories for the role they play as trade advocates and for fostering opportunities for women in international trade. An independent panel of judges selected this year’s IBWOY Award winners for the following categories:

Large Company:

Romaine Seguin, UPS Americas

Small/Medium Company:

Joan Levien Robertson, Robertson Forwarding Company, Inc.

Service Provider:

Barbara Pimentel, Florida Customs Brokers and Forwarders Association, Inc.

Additionally, to commemorate IBWOY’s 10th anniversary, a special International Lifetime Service Award will be given to Linda Santucci, Senior International Trade Specialist, Miami U.S. Export Assistance Center, US Commercial Service, US Department of Commerce for her more than 43 years of service and contributions to the development of international trade in the South Florida community. "We are very proud to honor these four outstanding women at this year's IBWOY Awards. Their professional and community activities are exemplary and they embody what OWIT-South Florida promotes: leadership, international trade and the advancement of women in the field. On behalf of OWIT-South Florida, we congratulate you" said Jennifer Diaz, president of OWIT-South Florida and Customs and International Trade Attorney at Becker & Poliakoff." This year’s event will feature keynote speaker Cynthia Hudson, Senior Vice President and General Manager of CNN en Español and Hispanic strategy for CNN/U.S and Marian de la Fuente, News Anchor and TV Host, as mistress of ceremony. The OWIT IBWOY Awards event is possible thanks to our planning committee and the generosity of this year's main sponsors CH Robinson Worldwide Inc, Home Financing Center, Robertson Forwarding Co., TotalBank and UPS; our In-kind sponsors Casa Vinicola Zonin, Dan Perez Films, Indigo Events, Logos PR, MAS Graphics,; and our table sponsors Astigarraga Davis, Beacon Council, Becker-Poliakoff, Business Wire, Canadian Consulate, Florida Customs Brokers and Freight Forwarders Association, Florida International University, Intelsat, Mercedes Electric, Otto Busot MSSB, University of Miami, UPS and the World Trade Center.

bottom of page